Tempeh and vegetables with homemade plum sauce

tempeh in plum sauce

To Stef’s horror, I insisted on buying plums at TJ’s last week. I proceed to bake up some delicious plum muffins and still had extra plums, which of course, I’d already diced. I decided to make a spicy plum sauce by boiling the plums with rice vinegar, tamari, chili sauce and a pinch of sugar. Then I sliced the tempeh very, very thinly and let it marinate in the fridge for a few days. (I didn’t forget about it, there were just a lot of other things to eat for dinner in the mean time.) I added broccoli, bell peppers and eggplant, added some water and baked it all for about 30 minutes at 400 degrees. When the vegetable were cooked and the sauce was bubbling, I served it over rice and garnished with green onions.

3 thoughts on “Tempeh and vegetables with homemade plum sauce

    • susan, i think some people use plum jam as the base for the sauce, but i thought the fresh plums were the perfect amount of sweetness.

Leave a Reply

