The world’s greatest, no-cheeze, vegan baked pasta dish

pasta

Last night, I wanted to a) use up the rest of the eggplant and zucchini stew and b) make something comforting. I felt like crap, Stef felt like crap, and the internet didn’t work. My solution? Make hummus lasagna! However, I arrived home, changed clothes, asked Stef if she wanted me to go to the store for anything and she said no, so I resolved not to leave the house again. Then I realized we had no lasagna noodles. FAIL.

But we did have an unopened bag of whole wheat spaghetti that I bought one day because I had a stupid coupon at WF and I decided that would work instead. I grabbed the homemade hummus I’d been storing in the freezer, boiled some water, and found the new meaning in life.

Ingredients:

16 oz whole wheat spaghetti, cooked until bendy, but not all the way done

16 oz homemade hummus (or store bought, if you must)

8-10 cups eggplant stew (or 1.5- 2 jars spaghetti sauce)

2 cups arugula

2 TBL nutritional yeast

water

salt and pepper

First, pulse the arugula, nutritional yeast, water, salt and pepper with a hand blender or a food processor. Make a nice green pesto. This would be great with kale or chard, instead.

In a 9 x 13 dish, pour a generous layer of sauce on the bottom. Layer half of the spaghetti, don’t worry about spreading out the noodles too much. Then half of the hummus. Then the arugula pesto. Then more eggplant/spaghetti sauce. Press down on this layer with the back of a fork. Repeat layering sequence, and end with sauce on top.

Cover with foil (poke holes!) and bake at 425 for 30 minutes. Then uncovered for about 15. I placed a baking sheet on the rack below in case to prevent any spills, so of course nothing boiled over.

I can’t wait to eat this again tonight!

6-8 servings

2 thoughts on “The world’s greatest, no-cheeze, vegan baked pasta dish

  1. Pingback: Hummus lasagna « Beans, Figs and Katz

Leave a Reply

