A belated final VeganMofo post, including lentil surprise

It’s the last day of VeganMofo, and I have a disgusting cold. I don’t often get sick, and I’m not very patient about getting better. Stef got me some orange juice, which ordinarily I would never drink because I really think drinking fruit juice is about the same as drinking a glass of sugar with a some vitamin c and folates (not to be negative or anything), yet when I have a cold I actually crave it.

That has nothing to do with dinner though. Tonight’s menu includes innovations on some of our favorite recipes. I decided to actually write down what I did when I cooked the lentil surprise. It actually has no bearing on the post I wrote up last year…The tomato soup is full of ginger and has an added creamy touch from the raw cashews. And the pumpkin custards are basically pumpkin pie filling with coconut milk and no crust, but they are creamy, special, perfect for tonight.

lentil surpriseLentil Surprise

1 cup red lentils

1 onion, diced

1/2 bell pepper, chopped

1 cup frozen spinach

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut

1 cup cilantro, chopped

4 garlic cloves, minced

1 TBL mustard seeds

2 TBL curry

1 tsp turmeric

1 tsp cayenne

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp salt

4 cups veggie stock

Heat oil in pot and add mustard seeds. Cover and wait until the seeds begin to pop, then add onions and garlic. Saute until soft, then add curry, turmeric, cumin, and cayenne. Cook about 5 minutes, add a little water if there is a lot of stickage in the pot. Add coconut, peppers, spinach, and cilantro. Then add stock and lentils. Bring to a boil, then simmer for 45-60 minutes until the lentils are soft and all the flavors are well combined. Serve with rice.

Leave a Reply

