Vegan spinach dip with black beans and rice

I wanted a giant veggie burger with lots of gloppy toppings and a mountain of beer battered fries. However, there were no veggie burgers in the freezer and I was not going to the store as we just shopped yesterday. Also, store bought veggie burgers are kind of lame compared to delicious, homemade burgers. So while I wasted time before yoga, I decided we should have beans and rice AND some kind of creamy spinach dip. Highly skilled information professional that I am, I ignored all the cookbooks to my right and left, and set about googling such things as “spinach dip” and “vegan spinach.” The boolean operator gods smiled upon me and I thought I had two great recipes that when combined would become the world’s greatest baked dip known to vegans and omnis alike.

Again, with the howevers. First, our hand blender died. It wasn’t a total FAIL in that it still turned on, but it sounded puny and it wouldn’t actually grind up anything. We then had to resort to the cuisinart, which means getting it out of the cabinet, etc. Then nothing tasted the way I imagined it would (I don’t know why I thought something with cream cheese and shredded monteray jack would taste exactly like cashews and rice milk, but I had an idea, just roll with it.) So we added and mixed and fussed and tasted. Finally we baked it and that was that.

spinach dip

Leave a Reply

