Vegan cranberry sauce muffins

This year, I decided to make homemade cranberry sauce because a) it sounds fun and easy and b) I assumed that my brother’s girlfriend’s family did that as part of their tradition, and I wanted her to feel at home. Turns out her family prefers the canned kind, but it was worth it to make the cranberry sauce. I love the texture of the whole cranberries and being able to control the amount of sweetness. Most of the recipes I looked at, used 1 cup of sugar for one 12 oz. package of cranberries. On my first attempt, I used 2/3 of a cup of sugar and this was WAY too sweet. My mother kindly went to the store and bought me another bag of cranberries, and this time I used only 1/3 cup of sugar + 1 TBL. Then I mixed in a little of the too sweet stuff, and voila, cranberry sauce. This also meant there was a lot of leftover sauce, which is fine with me, as I already planned to make these muffins.

Veganized Cranberry Sauce Muffins (original recipe Erin Zimmer at Serious Eats)

– makes about 12 muffins –

Ingredients

1.5 cups flour
1 cup steel-cut oats
1/6 cup turbinado sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 ½ cups of leftover cranberry sauce
1/2 cup rice milk
2 TBL olive oil
1 Ener-g egg replacer

Procedure

1. Heat oven to 400°F. Line muffin tin with paper baking cups.

2. In a large bowl, combine regular flour, whole-grain flour, oats, brown sugar, baking powder,  baking soda and salt; mix well. In medium bowl, combine milk, oil, cranberry sauce and egg replacer; blend well. Fold into dry ingredients all at once; stir until dry ingredients are moistened.

3. Fill muffin cups about three-quarters full.

4. Bake 20 to 22 minutes or until golden brown. Break off that seductive muffin top, then inhale the rest!

Coming soon, vegan cranberry swirl cookies!

Leave a Reply

