Fairytale eggplant curry and channa

Before:

After:

For the eggplant, we borrowed this recipe, but cooked the eggplants in the curry instead of stuffing them. What can I say? With moving the past week, I’m too lazy to stuff tiny eggplants at 9 PM. Sue me.

For the channa, it’s a pretty simple tomato, onion, cumin seeds, garlic, ginger, curry, and coriander sauce, with some lemon juice to balance the sweetness of the tomato.

Since we had leftover rice in the freezer, the whole meal took less than 45 minutes to make. Of course, we could never get dinner on the table in less than two hours without Stef’s exceptional knife skills.

2 thoughts on “Fairytale eggplant curry and channa

  1. I vote for cooking the litte eggplants in the curry even though I have no plans to be moving! I wanted to ask about freezing rice. Can any types of rice be cooked and frozen? While we are on the topic of frozen… have you ever tried to freeze cooked lentils or beans? My chronic lack of planning would be helped if I could cook and freeze certain time-intensive ingredients ahead of time so that when I decide to cook something I could have them. I know I will loose some freshness – but it’s better than not making the recipe at all if this could work. Thanks!

  2. yes, you can freeze any kind of rice! let it cool, then put it in ziplock bags, squeeze out the excess air, and voila. you can certainly freeze cooked beans and lentils, just put them in tupperware with a little cooking liquid. you can freeze almost anything except for mushrooms. or you can make big batches of foods, and freeze them in individual portions for fast-food on nights you don’t want to cook. let me know how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

